Skepticism and Faith

“Here’s the thing,” I said, long overdue for a rant. “People are always saying that to me – how can I possibly be a skeptic given what I am? Given how much I know about what’s really out there, how can I turn my nose up at any half-baked belief that crosses my desk? Really, it’s easy, because so many of them are half-baked. They’re formulated by people who don’t know what they’re talking about, or by people trying to con other people and make a few bucks. The fact that some of this is real makes it even more important to be on our guard, to be that much more skeptical, so we can separate truth and fiction. Blind faith is still blind, and I try not to be.”

Kitty Raises Hell

Carrie Vaughn

I was reading this book the other day, and this quote by the protagonist just kind of struck me.

You see, as a witch and a Pagan, I hear some rather wacked-out theories on how the world works.  And each and every one of them wants me to validate their spiritual worldview.

First off, not my job. people.  If you want to believe the moon is made of green cheese, you go right on ahead and believe that.  But that doesn’t mean I’m going to take that belief seriously.

Secondly, why, yes, I have had “weird” experiences some with ghosts, some with other entities.  But that DOES NOT mean that every old house is haunted, nor that you (or your family) are cursed by a person or an entity because you keep making all the wrong choices.

Do I believe in some things? Yes, I do. But only after they have been verified to not be something else, something more mundane.  I don’t take any future prognostication as true, not without stringent verification.  Even the more close-to-home things like with empathy (the ESP version) I will only rely on it if the emotion is verified by the person feeling it.

But people don’t want to hear that.

Most people who come up with these half-baked ideas are looking for attention.  You can tell a lot of it, because they themselves will always be a major portion of the ‘seeing.’ These are also often the same people who are convinced that they have a Grand Destiny.

Sorry, sweetcheeks, we may have certain encounters destined (notice the lower case d there – there is a huge difference between destiny and DESTINY), but the simple truth is we’re all just little specks of dust in a huge Universe.  You are not a messiah, you are not some grand savior, and you sure as hell aren’t some guru come to save us poor souls from our own delusions.

Same thing with ghosts, ghoulies, and long legged beasties.  Most ghosts are “recordings” – something happened in a place that left a residue that repeats itself endlessly until the residue is worn away.  And sometimes, that recording doesn’t show up unless the same atmospheric conditions as the original happen (i.e. a murder committed at night during a storm might only show up during a stormy night).

As for other kinds of entities, most things don’t bother with you because really, they have their own lives.  These people who claim to have the royalty of the Fae as their BFFs?  Why in the hell would they even want to know them?  It’s like Joe Schmoe down the street calling up the President and expecting him to go and have a beer with him.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t believe.  I just don’t believe that the Universe is a big, shiny cupcake with sprinkles.

Categories: Christianity, Paganism, Religious Ruminations, Wicca | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

