Doctors Suck

Not all doctors, but there is a greater percentage of them that suck than don’t. And sadly, one of the reasons why many of them suck is because of how they are taught.  The arrogance and superiority are encouraged by many of our medical schools.  There are reasons for it – such as actually having a compassionate relationship with patients can emotionally damage doctors – but it does not excuse doctors that either a) bully; or b) ignore symptoms that don’t fit in with their chosen diagnosis.

When you are what is considered “morbidly obese” (or even just technically obese), far too many doctors assume EVERY medical issue you have is related to your weight.  It’s not because they’ve done all the tests to see what is wrong with you, they just point to your weight and tell you “if you lose weight, you won’t have this problem.”

Oh, and the “eat less and exercise more” lecture gets put in there too inevitably.

It doesn’t matter what the doctor’s specialty is, EVERYTHING is blamed on your weight.  I’m not kidding when I say that.  When I was in my late teens, I went to over 20 OB/GYNs because I had severe menorrhagia. Of course, I didn’t know what it was, just that it was happening.

Only the last two doctors actually made any attempt to find out WHY I was having this issue. And that was ONLY because I brought in a 4 inch stack of paper detailing my symptoms and what diseases are likely given the combined symptoms.  In fact, with my own research, I was concerned that I perhaps had endometriosis – and I went into the last two doctors hoping to have that fear laid to rest (it was, eventually – I did NOT have that disorder).

I left the care of the first of those two because he attempted to get a biopsy sample while I was being examined, even though I had specifically refused that option.  I know my body, I know what hurts and what doesn’t.  For all that many doctors claim there are very few “nerve endings” in the vagina, or in the cervix, that’s not true for me.  I feel it when docs scrape around in there, and I certainly felt the cutting into my cervix.  I damned near kicked him.

I don’t care HOW much you think you are ‘better’ than me because you’re a doctor, you have NO right to do a procedure that has been refused.  I did not refuse to have things tested, just that particular way of testing.

I went to the last doctor, told him what happened with the previous, and stated in no uncertain terms that I was to be treated as an equal, NOT as a child. That was the FIRST doctor I had gone to in my life who actually took the time to test everything, and look into my health from a partnership standard.

When all the tests were done, it came down to the fact that I had a severe hormonal imbalance, and the testing of the matter collected during a D&C also showed precancerous cells.  I’m one of the few people for which the whole “estrogen dominance” issue is not a bunch of crap (it’s accepted by holistic/alternative practitioners, not so much in the mainstream medical community). I have low levels of progesterone (they did try to put me on synthetic progesterone, but it made me literally crazy), as well as lower than normal testosterone (yes, women have testosterone in their bodies too).  My estrogen levels were on the high side of normal, but the imbalance was evident.  And as long as I avoided soy-based products (or other plant-based or synthetic estrogens), I didn’t make matters worse.  What makes it worse is that fat cells actually also naturally produce estrogens.  So, I was stuck – the estrogen issue wouldn’t be as bad if I lost weight, but it also meant losing weight was far more difficult for me than for someone without the hormonal imbalance.

Until I started in on perimenopause, I couldn’t lose weight no matter what I did.  I could, however, be sure to eat right and exercise – and I did.  From 16 – 43, I literally never gained or lost more than 5 pounds. How many women can say that they hit 40 at the same weight as they were in high school?

I started studying herbalism, as well as reading as many medical journals as possible about vitamin and mineral deficits.  I found many interesting pieces of information that are found in peer-reviewed medical journals that no non-medical person is aware of.

  1. Did you know that 95% of the population of the USA is considered deficient in magnesium?  Magnesium is required for the production of energy, for a balanced metabolism, for the support of muscles and nerves, blood glucose control, blood pressure control, and plays an active role in the transmission of calcium and potassium into the cells. Unfortunately, it is difficult to measure the amount of magnesium in your system, because very little of it is in your blood.
  2. 98% of American diets are heavily deficient in potassium.  Postassium is required for energy production, effective metabolism, required for muscle function, and supports the bio-electrical transmission throughout the body.

And those are only two of the vitamins and minerals your body needs and aren’t getting.  Sadly, a lot of reasons for the deficiencies in America is that our earth is pretty damned depleted of many of the necessary nutrients for human health.  This isn’t a screed on some “miracle diet” – it’s a simple fact.  Depleted nutrients = deficiencies.  Doesn’t matter if you are a vegetarian or a carnivore – the diet you pick won’t give you the nutrients you need unless the nutrients can be beefed up in our dirt.  Even eating wild animal meat doesn’t help, as much of that “wild” area isn’t necessarily any better.

Back to doctors.  I am very picky about my doctor.  And, unlike a lot of women, I’m willing to be confrontational with my doctor, because of that early life experience.

When I meet a doctor for the first time, I lay it all out on the line.  I tell them first thing, I’m NOT looking for a parent or a god – I want a medical provider who wants to PARTNER with me in my own health. I want a doctor who is capable of looking “outside the box” and doesn’t assume everything about my health is related to my weight.  Who actually LISTENS to what is going on in my body, knowing I won’t lie about or hide shit.  Who is willing to support the idea that perhaps I might be deficient in certain nutrients, and supports my desire to do preventive work as much as dealing with the current issues. I tell them I will NOT be lectured to, treated like a 2 year old, or any other condescending superiority crap.

When going to a doctor, you need to be confident that you know your own body.  You need to be willing to stand up for yourself.

Categories: Body Positivity | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

