Body Issues Are Genderless

19 Men Go Shirtless And Share Their Body Image Struggles

Look, the reality is that more often than not both men and women have their own body image struggles. And it’s not just about wanting more muscles, it’s about wanting to be proud of the body they have.

My boyfriend admittedly has a small paunch. Because of this and a few other things, he believes that he is not very attractive.

Nothing I can say will change that, because it’s a self-image issue and he admits that. I have a similar self-image issue, and he struggles to understand why I cannot see myself as beautiful.

In fact, I have a lot of quite attractive male friends who consider themselves to be trolls, because they do not reflect the societially attractive standard.

It is exactly the same level of unfairness for men to be expected to conform to a single beauty standard as it is for women.

I will say it again and again if I have to. I will shout it from the rooftops if I have to. And I will challenge these so-called standards, until we can finally understand that beauty is not limited by size, shape, color, gender or what ever stupid niche  we want to  force someone into because we think they are  “different” or ugly or however else we have demonized them.

Categories: Body Positivity | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

